利用游戏来建立信任和交流

利用游戏来建立信任和交流

如果你和一个孩子分享过一段愉快的经历,他就会更容易向你谈起一些对他来说是很重要的事情。游戏的趣味性和分享快乐的过程能够赢得孩子的信任。你的温情、关爱和认同,以及让他知道你随时是他倾诉的对象,是当他内心受到伤害时,能够对你敞开心扉的关键。

心理学家利用游戏来和孩子们建立融洽的关系以便帮助他们。通过与那些妄自菲薄,课堂表现不好的同学进行围棋游戏,美国心理学家Larry Gaines 将游戏中需要的“永不放弃”的信条传递到他们对学习的态度上。他帮助他们认识到了消极的行为举止会使得他们输掉游戏,这就使得孩子们认识到了同样的消极行为会使得他们的学习也难有所获。

2000年,Gaines博士在“青春期心理学”的一篇文章中指出,他发现他所研究的学生“在意识到他们行为习惯等方面潜在的问题后都表现出积极改变自己的愿望”,因为这些问题导致他们在围棋和学习等方面都表现平平。他认为这种变化是“他们得到了新的,热心幽默的成年人的榜样作用的结果。”

他的这种治疗性游戏成功的关键因素是在游戏过程中被孩子们打败时, Gains博士表现出了亲切的肯定。他尊重并承认学生们的棋艺,并且乐于传授他自己的经验。他指出如果“成人肯于谦卑自己――不怕输给学生们――并分享他们的经验而”的话,会促进学生们改变的积极性。通过提示孩子们所下的危险错误棋步,并且教他们如何成为一个更好的棋手,他赢得了孩子们的信任与尊重。

处理胜利与失败

对于任何孩子来说,胜利都是一个令人欢欣鼓舞的经历,但是失败同样会教给我们很多东西。在生活当中能够处理好失望的情绪是情绪稳定性的主要部分。游戏可以作为一种真实生活的“彩排”,让孩子们为现实生活做好准备。

帮助孩子处理失败时,可以简单地说:“面对失败的确不容易,但是游戏的过程更有意思。大家一起开心的玩要远比赢得游戏更为重要。”你可能遇到过一些在生活当中不懂得这一道理的成年人。这些不高兴的人们在面对失败时变得愤怒,抑郁或沉沦于低落情绪之中。学习接受损失,而不被失望打倒是我们生命中很重要的一个部分。竞争类游戏可以帮助孩子们为发展这一情感能力做准备。

要参与到有组织的游戏中,孩子们必须学会控制他们的情绪和消极冲动。竞争类游戏包括一定的游戏规则,孩子们大都能接受。如果他们做的好,并且严格遵守游戏规则的话,他们就会有公平的机会赢得游戏。否则,他们就只能看着别人玩,并且知道这是他们的行为造成的后果。对于那些自控能力很差的孩子来说,游戏能够促进他们养成更好的行为举止。他们能够学到要以建设性的方式用语言来表达他们的情感,而不是破坏游戏规则而失去参与游戏的机会。

作弊与竞争

Beilin博士告诫那些指导治疗性游戏的成年人要特别注意游戏中的竞争和作弊问题。如果你和孩子们做游戏,不要故意让他们赢,或者允许他们作弊,当然也不要欺骗你自己。公平地游戏是对每个人的尊重。如果你作为一个成年人,明显要比孩子们更快更强,要想达到游戏的公平性,你就要给自己设置一些障碍,例如:在赛跑游戏中让孩子们一个身位,或者给他们额外的加分。这就会使孩子们明白参与到公平的游戏中要远比获得胜利更快乐。

你对于胜利的态度是很重要的,因为孩子们会以你为榜样。如果你在游戏中过分看重输赢,使得输赢变成游戏的最终目的,那么你就偏离了治疗性游戏的宗旨。享受游戏的过程很有益,胜利只是游戏乐趣的一部分,一旦你让竞争本身主导游戏,那么游戏本身很快就会起到相反的作用。要玩得开心,但要记住游戏的目的是要教会孩子如何有效地进行交流,同时通过分享游戏的快乐来帮助他们建立信任和自信。

建立行为指导方针:体谅和善意

游戏过程很有趣,要鼓励孩子们开心地与他人愉悦地相处。但是与他人一起欢笑和取笑他人是有区别的。当设计治疗性游戏环节的时候,你需要注意孩子们互动中的彼此的伤害行为。不幸的是,孩子们有时会粗鲁地对待他们的同伴,特别是那些感觉上弱一些的,不那么有吸引力或不太聪明的同伴。

每个人都有他擅长的一方面和独特的地方,但是这些能力通常是未被注意到的,往往被自卑或生理缺陷所掩盖而不能得以发挥。爱和包容是我们潜能生长的沃土。但是来自于同伴的消极压力会导致这些潜能的幼芽还没有绽放前就被扼杀了。

孩子们需要受到保护不被其他孩子奚落,如果在游戏过程中出现了威胁或嘲笑的情况,作为成年人的游戏指导者则需要迅速作出反应。心理学家James Dobson在他所著的《寻找与躲藏》一书中阐述了这一理论。他讲了一个悲伤的故事,说是由一个叫黑兹尔的小女孩,普通而羞涩。在和班级同学做游戏的过程中,被班上的男孩子取笑了。而她的老师却视而不见,让小女孩自己面对和处理这个问题。

Dobson博士反对这种处理方式,首先,他建议“在开学的第一天,就可以通过让孩子们讨论别人的感受,来防止上述令人窘迫情况的发生。如果真的发生了上述冲突,黑兹尔的自尊在众人面前被撕得粉碎,那么我会用我全部的力量和尊敬来站在她那一边。”

这种情况下的干预是十分必要的,因为易受伤的孩子需要保护,而有攻击性的孩子需要约束和相应的引导。嘲笑是很伤人的。有时候,攻击他人的孩子并没有意识到自己这样做给别人带来的痛苦,相反却很享受这一时刻的“乐趣”。有时候,他们的行为是有计划的,故意的。但是不论是哪种情况,这种行为都应被制止。

Dobson博士建议建立行为准则规范,其中包括可以一起对有趣的事情开怀大笑,但是不能让他人感觉到难堪。教育孩子以己所不欲勿施于人的态度来对待别人,重要的是老师的榜样作用――老师不要在课堂上故意刁难或取笑学生。羞辱或取笑可能会使暴戾的学生表面安静下来,但是如果你想让他尊重他的伙伴,这样做就会适得其反。通过尊重每个孩子的自尊,老师就可以树立一个很好的榜样,从而有待于学生们来加以效仿。

老师在班级中的权威与控制力是至关重要的,这些可以通过为学生们制定行为准则来体现。大家一起讨论被奚落后的感受如何,以及为什么这种行为是不可取的。当清晰明了的行为规范被制定出来后,同学们能够感觉受到了保护,因为他们知道他们的权利不会受到侵犯。

根据Dobson所说的,“通过保护班级中最没有人缘的孩子,老师表明了立场:1)他没有偏爱的“宠儿”;2)他尊重每一个人;3)他会保护每一个遭受不公平待遇的孩子。这三点立场孩子们非常看重,对建立健康的心理与平和的心态有很大帮助。”

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用 * 标注

*

您可以使用这些 HTML 标签和属性: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Use Games to Build Trust and Communication

It becomes easier for a child to talk about things that are important to him if you share a common enjoyable experience. A playful attitude and shared enjoyment of a game can win a child’s trust. Your warmth, love and acceptance, coupled with letting him know you are available if he needs to talk, is what will allow him to open up to you when he is hurting inside.

Psychologists use games in this way to build a rapport with children in order to help them. In playing chess with students who exhibited self-defeating attitudes and poor classroom performance, American psychologist Larry Gaines helped students transfer the “never give up” mindset needed to master the game, to their attitudes towards schoolwork. As he helped them recognize negative behavior patterns that were causing them to lose in the game, it opened the door to the children recognizing similar negative behavior patterns that were hindering them from succeeding in school.

In an article written in “Adolescent Psychiatry” in 2000, Dr. Gaines observed that the students he worked with, “showed an increased willingness to change after becoming aware of hidden aspects of their behavioral styles” that caused them to do poorly in both chess and school. He credited this change to “the result of their having a new type of adult available-someone enthusiastic and playful.”

A key element of success in his game therapy was the gracious acceptance Dr. Gains showed when the children beat him at the game. He respected and acknowledged their skills while being willing to teach his own. He found if, “rather than humiliate them – in reaction to the fear of losing to them – the adult was willing to share his skills” a willingness to change was triggered in the students. By warning children of potentially bad moves in a game, and teaching them how to be better players, he earned their trust and admiration.

Dealing with Winning and Loss

Winning is an enjoyable experience for any child, but loss also teaches us much. Being able to handle disappointment in life is a major part of emotional stability. Games can be used as a type of “dress rehearsal” of normal life, to prepare children for the real thing.

A simple response to use when helping a child deal with defeat is “It’s not easy to lose, but it’s fun to play. Having fun together is even more important than winning.” You have probably encountered adults who failed to master this principle in life. Those unhappy folks deal with setbacks and defeat by becoming angry, sullen, or slumping into despair. Learning to accept loss without becoming overwhelmed with discouragement is a necessary part of life. Competitive games can help prepare children to develop this emotional life skill.

To be able to participate in organized games, children must learn to control their emotions and negative impulses. Competitive games involve rules, which children generally accept. If they play well and stick to the rules, they have a fair chance to win. If not, they sit out the game and learn that their actions bear consequences. For children who have great difficulty with self-control, games can be an incentive towards better behavior. They can be taught to verbalize their emotions in a constructive way, rather than disrupting the game by acting out, and thus losing the opportunity to participate.

Cheating and Competitiveness

Dr. Berlin cautioned adults conducting therapeutic play in regards to competitiveness and cheating. If you are playing along with the children, don’t let them win on purpose, or allow them to cheat, and certainly don’t cheat yourself. Playing fair shows respect for each person. If you, an adult, are obviously faster or stronger you can handicap yourself in order to make things fair, such as letting them have a head start in a race, or giving them extra points. This demonstrates to them that playing a fair game is more fun than winning.

Your attitude towards winning is important, because the children will model themselves after your example. If you get so caught up in the game that you give in to the urge to become competitive, and winning becomes the all-encompassing goal, you risk derailing your therapeutic play session. While it is helpful to genuinely enjoy playing, and winning is part of the fun, it will quickly become counterproductive if you let a competitive streak gets the better of you. Have fun yourself, but remember the goal is to teach the children how to communicate effectively, while building their trust and confidence through the shared enjoyment of a game.

Establishing Guidelines for Conduct : Consideration and Kindness

Play sessions are fun, and children should be encouraged to laugh and have a good time with each other. There is a difference however, between laughing with someone and laughing at them. When conducting therapeutic play sessions you will need to be on the lookout for hurtful peer interaction. Unfortunately, young people can at times be brutal in the treatment of their peers, especially with those who are perceived to be weaker, less attractive or less intelligent.
Every human being is gifted in some special and unique way, yet these qualities often go undetected, masked by low self-esteem or flawed physical appearance. Love and acceptance is the rich soil that nurtures our hidden qualities to fruition. Negative peer pressure, however, can stamp out the green shoot of promise in a child’s life before it ever has a chance to bloom.

Children need to be protected from ridicule by other students, and if bullying or mocking takes place, the adult supervising the game session should be swift to respond. Psychologist James Dobson puts forth these principles in his book, “Hide or Seek: Building Self-Esteen in Your Child” (1999). He recounts the sad story of Hazel, a homely and shy pre-adolescent girl being cruelly mocked and teased by the boys in her class during organized games. The teacher chose to ignore the situation and left the girl to fend for herself.

Dr. Dobson disagreed with such a tactic, first by suggesting “the embarrassment could have been prevented by discussing the feelings of others from the first day of school. But if the conflict occurred as described, with Hazel’s ego suddenly shredded for everyone to see, I would have thrown the full weight of my authority & respect on her side of the battle.”

Intervening in such situations is necessary because vulnerable children need protection, and aggressive children need boundaries and discipline. Ridicule hurts. Sometimes the offending children are oblivious to the pain they are causing while caught up in the “fun” of the moment. At other times their actions are calculated and intentional. Either way, the behavior should be stopped.

Dr. Dobson recommends establishing rules of behavior that include laughing together at things that are funny, but not by making another person feel badly. To teach children to live by the rule of treating others in the way we wish to be treated, it is important that the teacher, as a role model, never intentionally embarrass or ridicule the children in the class. Shaming and scorning a student may quiet a rambunctious youngster, but it will backfire if you then expect him to handle his peers with respect. By respecting the dignity of each child, the teacher sets an example he can expect his students to uphold.

The teacher’s authority and control of the classroom is crucial, and this can be achieved by having clearly defined rules of conduct laid out for the students. Discuss together as a group how it feels to be ridiculed or mocked, and why such behavior is not acceptable. When clear rules of conduct are laid down, children feel protected, as they know their own rights will not be violated.

According to Dobson, “By defending the least popular child in the room, the teacher is demonstrating, 1) That he has no “pets”; 2) That he respects everyone; 3) That he will fight for anyone who is being treated unjustly. Those are three virtues which children value highly, and which contribute to mental health & peace of mind.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>