一次改良的阿特金斯食谱体验

作者 Annette Siefert
在2009年的5月,当我的儿子凯西最初在10岁时被诊断为意识丧失型癫痫病,负责他的神经科专家说:“在3-11岁的儿童里这个病症是很常见的,并且药物治疗很就容易控制它”。到2010年的5月时,他的第二阶段抽搐已经增加到了每天15-20秒,到了2010年6月,他开始阵挛性发作又称癫痫大发作。

服用这些药物我们付出了如此大的代价,我们曾经超级有活力的男孩每天几乎都是熟睡的。过去,孩子从学校回到家,躺下以后就可以睡着而且中间不醒,直到第二天早晨闹钟叫醒他。他勉强能完成学校的作业,至于家庭作业是根本不可能的。他不再玩曲棍球了,那是他曾经深爱着的运动,从前,每个星期都要玩3天。他变得十分沮丧和生气。在六个月里,他的体重增加了13磅,这更加重了他的沮丧和沉默寡言。

凯西在他的神经科专家建议他尝试生酮饮食疗法之前,已经服用九种不同的药物。那时候凯西多次癫痫发作以至于我们不能计划一次晚间外出,所以在阅读了限制条件之后他准备尝试一下这个食谱。我们去了医生的办公室以期待了解关于生酮饮食疗法的细节,但凯西确得到了一份替代的食谱,改进的阿特金森食谱(MAD)。他的医生觉得在他这个年龄,以及对食物的热爱,他很可能在使用阿特金森食谱上取得成功,阿特金森食谱的限制条件更少但是治疗效果却相同。

在今年的一月,我们开始了阿特金斯之旅。最初它是完完全全的消耗精力。如果我不是在购物那就是在做饭或者学习做菜或者制定凯西饮食的计划。仅仅在使用了一两周以后,令我们惊奇的是,抽搐的现象突然停止了。我几乎难以相信在经过与各种药物和它们带来的副作用一年半的斗争之后,一份食谱就做到了它们所不能做到的。这个方法产生的效果简直让人难以置信,它让所有额外工作都有意义。

明显的疗效仅仅持续了大概一两个星期,然后癫痫发作又悄然的回来了。但是它停留的时间非常短,只有1-2秒的发作。我们的医生提醒我们在真正看出阿特金森食谱是否生效之前我们必须坚持使用这个食谱三个月,我们也这么做了。在三个月后,凯西一天中仍然有几次抽搐,但它们持续的时间很短并且只在睡醒之后的早晨发生。阿特金森食谱得到的结果比凯西用过的任何一种药物都要好,而且它的副作用很小。

凯西现在已经使用这份食谱满六个月了。他减掉了吃药所带来的大部分体重。他的能量水平和睡眠习惯恢复到了从前。他重新玩曲棍球了。他以3.92的平均成绩完成了他6年纪的学习并获得了学习优秀奖和公民奖。(上个九月当他开始中学学习的时候,我们都不确定它能够在没有居家自学的情况下完成今年的学习。)

对我来说这份食谱变得容易些了。我学会了去购物的地点和时间。我在周末做饭和烘焙并且为了方便在任何时间冷冻食物。我发现了很多关于低碳水化合物的食谱和食物的书籍网站。我跟我的丈夫团结在一起制作腌肉和计划食谱。

凯西仍然偶尔在早晨的时候抽搐,我们坚持调整他的食谱目的是为了让他远离抽搐。但即使我们没那么做,我们的生活也比使用改良的阿特金森食谱前好了很多,我们每天都对凯西的慢慢恢复十分的感激。

附言:当我们开始使用这份食谱的时候,关于食谱与前青春期孩子的关系的信息很少,我过去曾迅速收集了大量的信息,我需要把它们放到一个地方,后来那个地方变成了我的博客。这对我的健康很有益处,对其他人重视改良的阿特金森食谱是有意义和帮助性的。通过分享我们的挣扎和胜利,您可以免费浏览:

http://www.modifiedmom.wordpress.com,得到食谱和饮食方面的建议,找到相关的联系和经历。

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用 * 标注

*

您可以使用这些 HTML 标签和属性: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

One MAD Journey

One MAD Journey
by Annette Siefert

When my son Casey was originally diagnosed with absence seizures at the age of 10, his neurologist said, “It’s really very common among 3-11 year olds, and easy to control with medication”. That was in May of 2009. By May of 2010, his two-second seizures had spiraled into 15-20 second seizures throughout each day and then in June 2010 he began having Tonic Clonic/Grand Mal seizures.

The medications took such a toll, our once uber-energetic boy was sleeping away most days. Once home from school, he would lie down and not wake again until his alarm went off the next morning. He could barely finish his school work, and homework was out of the question. He stopped playing hockey which he previously loved and played 3 days a week. He became very depressed and angry (who wouldn’t?) . He gained 13 lbs. in 6 months which added to his depression and inactivity.

Casey was on nine different medications before his neurologist suggested trying the Ketogenic Diet. At this point Casey was having so many seizures that we could not even plan a night out, so even after reading up on the restrictions he was ready to give the diet a try. We went to the doctor’s office expecting to learn in detail about the Ketogenic Diet, but instead Casey was offered an alternate diet, the Modified Atkins Diet (MAD). His doctor felt that at his age, and with his love of food there was a greater chance he would be successful on the MAD which is less restrictive than the Ketogenic Diet but boasts similar results.

On January 1st of this year, our family began the MAD journey. At first it was all consuming. If I wasn’t shopping I was cooking or cleaning dishes or charting Casey’s meals. But after only a week or two, and much to our amazement, the seizures came to an abrupt halt. I could hardly believe that after a year and a half of struggling with all the different drugs and their side effects a diet could do what none of them could. It seemed too good to be true and made all the extra work worth every bit of the effort.

This only lasted about a week or two, and then the seizures slowly crept back. But very slowly and only very short 1-2 second seizures. Our doctor had warned us that we must remain on the diet for three months before we could truly see if it was working or not, so we did. At the end of three months we had determined that Casey was still having a few seizures a day, but they remained short in duration and only in the morning just after waking. This was a much better result than any of the drugs he had used and it came with very few side effects.

Casey has now been on the diet for a full six months. He has lost most of the weight gained from the drugs. His energy level and sleeping habits are back to normal. He is playing hockey again. And, he just finished out his 6th Grade year with a 3.92 GPA and an Academic Excellence and Citizenship Award. (Last September when he started Middle School, we were not even sure he would be able to get through the year without home-schooling).

The diet has also become easier for me. I have learned where and when to shop. I cook and bake on the weekends and freeze food for convenient meals anytime. I have found many books websites with great low carb recipes and/or food products. My husband and I “bond” over making bacon and menu planning. It is a real family affair.

Casey continues to have a few small seizures in the mornings, and we are continually tweaking his menu with the goal of reaching seizure free status. But even if we never do, our lives are immensely better than before the MAD, and we are so grateful every day that we have our joyful little boy back.

P.S. When we began the diet there was not a lot of information out there or connections to other pre-teens on the diet. I was gathering so much information so fast that I needed a place to “put” it, and that place has become my blog. It has been very therapeutic for me and hopefully informative and helpful for others contemplating the MAD. So feel free to visit, get recipe and food ideas, find related links and journey through our struggles and triumphs while sharing your own. http://www.modifiedmom.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>