癫痫病的饮食疗法

掌握有效的治疗方法能帮助你控制癫痫病,而不是让它掌控你。在这一点上每个人都是不同的,你需要跟你的医生共同努力来找出最适合自己的疗法。

大多数癫痫病都能通过药物得到成功控制,尽管抑制癫痫发作的药物有所改进,但是药物对相当一部分的癫痫病案例并不起作用。根据医学博士约瑟夫•西尔旺的观点,“此类疾病被称为医学上的疑难杂症或抗药癫痫病。多达20﹪-40﹪的癫痫患者都患有顽固性癫痫。”(源自“顽固性癫痫病信息管理部门2004年的评估报告”)

根据约翰斯•霍普金医院的艾瑞克•科索夫博士的观点,“尽管在过去的10年中用于治疗癫痫的抗惊厥药物的数量增加了一倍,但我们也日益认识到:如果两至三种药物没有效果的话,那么找到一个可以成功对付癫痫发作的药物的可能性几乎为零。然而,很多儿童、青少年和成人也都在寻找另一种答案”

当抑制癫痫发作的药物失败,或一些病人觉得再也无法忍受药物所带来的副作用时,生酮饮食疗法便成了标准的治疗方法。此外,较新版本的食谱,如“改良的阿特金斯饮食”也逐渐得到了关注,被用作对某些类型癫痫发作的一线治疗。

通过浏览我们的网站,您可以了解到“改良后阿特金斯食谱”的相关信息,以及通过使用该食谱进行治疗的一些家长和青少年们所写的文章。同时,您还能了解到来自约翰斯•霍普金斯医院的艾瑞克•科索夫博士所提供的信息。

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用 * 标注

*

您可以使用这些 HTML 标签和属性: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Dietary Therapy for Epilepsy

Understanding available treatment options can help you take control of your epilepsy, rather than let it take control of you. Every person is different; what works best for you is something you and your doctor need to work together to decide.

Most cases of epilepsy can be successfully controlled with medication. However, despite advances in anti-seizure medication, a significant percentage of epilepsy cases do not respond to known medications. According to Joseph Sirven, MD, “This condition is also referred to as medically refractory or pharmacoresistant epilepsy. As many as 20 to 40 percent of patients with epilepsy…are likely to have refractory epilepsy.” (Evaluation and Management of Refractory Epilepsy; 2004)

According to Dr. Eric Kossoff of Johns Hopkins Hospital, “Despite a doubling of anticonvulsants available for the treatment of epilepsy over the last decade, there has been a growing recognition that if two or three drugs don’t work, the odds of finding a successful medicine for seizures is nearly zero. Many children, adolescents and adults look for another answer.”

Ketogenic dietary therapy has been a standard treatment used when anti-seizure medication fails, or when some patients find the side effects of medication intolerable. Newer versions of the diet, such as the Modified Atkins Diet for seizures are also receiving attention as a first-line treatment for certain forms of epilepsy.

Explore our site for information on the Modified Atkins Diet for seizures, articles from parents and teens using the diet, as well as information from Dr. Eric Kossoff from Johns Hopkins Hospital.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>