如果你经历了癫痫发作,那么你并不孤单

如果你经历了癫痫发作,那么你并不孤单
历史上这些名人有什么共性?
他们都患有癫痫病
如果你认为癫痫病就是低智商或自卑的标志,那么请你再思考思考这一看法。以下列举的所有这些历史上著名的人都患有癫痫病,然而他们却全都是相关领域的领袖人物。难道我们现在不应该换一种方式看待癫痫病了吗?

对抗无知,
改变历史。

下面以字母先后顺序排列

巴德•阿勃特,1900年-1974年
他是美国阿勃特&科斯特洛喜剧小组的喜剧演员。1940年-1965年,他与卢•科斯特洛在超过35部电影里合作并担任主角。

尼尔•艾贝康比,1938年-现在
1986年-1987年他担任来自夏威夷地区的美国众议院议员。1988年-1990年他任职于火奴鲁鲁市议会。在1970年他为美国参议院寻求民主党提名。1990年11月6日他第一次被选为美国众议院议员。他最后一次当选是在1994年11月8日。

亚历山大大帝 公元前356年-323年
他是马其顿王国的国王,同时也是历史上最伟大的将军之一。

阿尔弗雷德大帝,849年-901年
他是一位国王,他的领土位于英格兰西南部的西萨克逊。他从来自丹麦的维京人手中拯救了他的威塞克斯王国并奠定了英格兰统一的基础。无论是战争时期还是和平时期他都是一名非常杰出的领袖,因此在英国他是唯一一个因“伟大”而被人们所熟知的英国国王。

亚里士多德,公元前384年-322年
他是希腊的哲学家和科学家。亚里士多德是柏拉图的学生。在公元前343年他开始辅导年轻的亚历山大大帝。他写了很多关于生物学、天文学、修辞学和文学评论等学科的书籍。

巴迪•贝尔 [大卫•格斯•贝尔],1951年-现在。
他是一位职业棒球运动员以及底特律老虎队的经理。在1973年、1980年-1982年和1984年五年入选全明星。

拿破仑•波拿巴[拿破仑一世],1769年-1821年
他是法兰西国王,在他那一时代他是最伟大的军事天才,如今大家普遍认为也许他是历史上最伟大的军事天才。

拜伦勋爵, (乔治•戈登•拜伦),1788年-1824年

他是英国诗人中感情色彩最丰富的诗人。在他10岁时,他的叔祖父拜伦勋爵去世,他继承了这一爵位。

理查德•伯顿,1925年-1984年
他是一名威尔士的演员,在1961年他凭借《卡米洛特》获得托尼奖。他曾7次获得奥斯卡提名。他因在莎士比亚戏剧中的出色表演以及与伊莉莎白•泰勒这位曾经和他缔结过两次婚姻的女演员合作而闻名。

尤里乌斯•凯撒,公元前100年到44年
他是罗马的将军和政治家。凯撒大帝的癫痫发作已被证实。他曾告诉别人,在他癫痫发作期间他接收到了来自上帝的呼唤。

路易斯•卡洛儿[查尔斯•路德维希•道奇森],1832年-1898年
他是一位数学家和作家,他写有作品《爱丽丝镜中奇遇记》和《爱丽丝漫游仙境》。

马克思•克利福德,1943年-现在
他是英国最具成就的公共关系顾问之一,他是披头士乐队、穆罕穆德•阿里、弗兰克.西纳特拉,马龙.布兰登,比•吉斯乐队以及其他一些摇滚团体和社会名流的经纪人。

马里昂•克丽娜,1962年-现在
她是一名自行车运动员,1996和2002年奥运会银牌获得者。在她因患上癫痫病而被取消驾照后,她开始踏上了奥运会奖牌之路。

科埃略•托尼,1942年-现在
他是1990年美国众议员议员。他是美国残疾法案通过的背后主要推动人之一。他是总统残疾人就业委员会的主席。克林顿总统任命他为国家残疾人就业特别小组的副主席。

但丁[阿利盖利•但丁],1265年-1321年
他是意大利作家,意大利中世纪最伟大的诗人之一。他史诗《神曲》跻身世界文学史最优秀的行列。

莱昂纳多•达芬奇,1452年-1519年
他是艺术家、科学家和发明家。同时他也是历史上最伟大的画家、最多才多艺的天才之一。他是文艺复兴时代最关键的人物之一。他的很多发明和科学思想都十分先进,比他所处的时代要领先几个世纪。

费奥多尔•陀思妥耶夫斯基,1821年-1881年
他是一位俄罗斯作家。当他还是小孩子的时候他曾经发生过三次痉挛发作,当他青春期的时候,他开始复杂性局部癫痫发作。他的癫痫发作开始时伴随着狂喜的感觉,随后赶到极度痛苦,然后便开始痉挛抽搐。在他的一些作品中,有些人物就患有癫痫病。他著有:《罪与罚》(1886年),《白痴》(1887年),《卡拉马佐夫兄弟》(1912年)。

居斯塔夫•福楼拜,1821年-1880年
他是一位法国作家,也许是由于小时候受过外伤,他从22岁开始他就患有颞叶癫痫病。他著有:《包法利夫人》(1857)

丹尼•格洛弗,1947年-现在
他是一名美国演员,他在《我心深处》(1984),《紫色》(1985),《致命武器》(1987-1992)三部曲中担任主角。

乔治•弗雷德里克•汉德尔,1685年-1759年
他是一位英国作曲家,他精通于由46个歌剧组成的巴洛克音乐。他最被人所熟知的作品:《救世主》(1741)。

马格特•海明威 [马格杜克斯],1955年-1996年
她是一位演员和模特,她是欧内斯特•海明威的孙女,1976年她担任《朱唇劫》的主角。

埃尔顿•约翰 [雷金纳德•肯尼思•德怀特],1947年-现在
他是英国流行音乐作曲家和演奏家,他录制过25张专辑,包括《火箭人》(1972年),《费城自由》(1975年),《将她包裹》(1985年),1981年他获得格莱美奖,并进入摇滚乐名人堂。

索伦•克尔凯郭尔,1813年-1855年
他是丹麦的哲学家和神学家。他被认为是存在主义的创始人。

哈尔•拉尼尔,1942年-现在
他是休斯顿棒球运动员和经理人,于1964-1973年担任内场手。

爱德华•里尔,1812年-1888年
他是写胡话诗句的英国艺术家和作家。据说在他整个成年时期,他每天或每两天都会发生复杂性部分癫痫发作。他也是五行打油诗作家并因他的诗作《猫头鹰和猫咪》(1891年)而闻名。

维切尔•林赛,1879年-1931年
他是一位美国诗人。他认为诗歌应该被表演而不是被简单的阅读。他的一些诗歌,如《刚果》(1914年)中包括了舞台方向。他的诗歌特点是强劲的节奏和生动的画面。

詹姆斯•麦迪逊,1751年-1836年
他是第四任美国总统(1809年-1817年);他起草了人权法案,因此通常被称为宪法之父。他在1787年的制宪会议上发挥主导作用,其中他帮助设计的制衡体系使政府的立法、行政和司法部门的权利平等。他还创建了联邦制度。

居伊•德•莫泊桑,1850年-1893年
他是法国作家。他是福楼拜的学生。他是世界公认的短篇小说大师并创作了《皮埃尔和让》(1888年)

让•莫里哀( 让•巴蒂斯特•波克兰),1622年-1673年
他是法国剧作家,创作了《丈夫学堂》(1662年),《想象的病患》(1673年)。莫里哀是他的笔名,他被誉为法国最伟大的喜剧大师。

艾萨克•牛顿爵士,1646年-1727年
他发明了微积分,万有引力定律,二项式定理,并且发现了白光的复合性。牛顿是一个腼腆的,病弱的男孩,并且在他成年之后依旧保留了这份腼腆。

阿弗雷德•诺贝尔,1833年-1896年
他是瑞典化学家,工程师和炸药的发明者。作为一个慈善家,他设立了诺贝尔奖,并且留下了920万美金作为奖金。诺贝尔奖开始于1901年。

尼科罗.帕格尼尼,1782年-1840年
他是一位意大利作曲家和小提琴演奏家。他变革了小提琴的技巧和指法,成为了永远伟大的小提琴家。

布莱斯•帕斯卡尔, 1623年-1662年
他是法国哲学家、数学家和神学家。他制定了帕斯卡定律,该定律说明液体在所有方向传递相同的压强。

彼得大帝,1672年-1725年
他是俄国沙皇,彼得一世,是沙皇阿列克谢•罗曼诺夫之子。他是历史上最著名的统治者之一。他先成为了俄国沙皇,后来成为了俄罗斯第一位皇帝。他使俄罗斯成为了欧洲一股强大的势力。

威廉•皮特,1759年-1806年
他是第一代查塔姆伯爵的次子,在1781年他成为了英国国会下议院的成员。起初他是一名改良主义者,他反对与美国殖民战争并且倡导和平。1783年他成为了英国最年轻的首相。

埃德加•爱伦•坡,1809年-1849年
他是一位非常著名的短篇小说之王。尤其擅长神秘与恐怖故事。他也被尊称为现代侦探小说之父。作为一位诗人和批评家也广为人知。他创作了很多著名的诗歌包括:《睡美人》(1831年)《丽诺尔》(1831年)《乌鸦》(1845年),他还创作了一些故事,如:《厄舍府的倒塌》(1839年),《莫格街谋杀案》(1841年)以及《玛丽•罗杰命案》(1842年-1843年)。

毕达哥拉斯,公元前582年-公元前507年
他是希腊哲学家和数学家,是他发现了音调原理。他因构想出勾股定理而闻名,该定理确定,直角三角形两直角边的平方和等于斜边的平方。

包迪西亚王后,?-公元61年
她是古不列颠爱西尼人王后,凯尔特民族栖息的领地是现在英格兰的诺福克和苏福克。在她的丈夫国王普拉苏塔古斯去世之后,她的王国被罗马人占领了

苏格拉底,公元前470年?—公元前399年
他是希腊哲学家和教师。他将哲学看做是所有聪明人必不可少的人生追求。他是柏拉图的老师。他是古希腊哲学家以及西方思想史中最早的、最具影响力的以及最有争议的人物之一。

斯温伯恩•阿尔杰农•查尔斯,1837年-1909年
他的文学批评范围十分广泛,从莎士比亚到狄更斯都是他文学批评的对象,但是他赢得了杰出诗人的荣誉。在1860年他出版了两部诗剧:《太后》和《罗索曼》

彼得•伊里奇•柴可夫斯基,1840年-1893年
他是俄罗斯首位音乐被选入西欧标准音乐会计划的作曲家。他因所创作的古典芭蕾舞剧《天鹅湖》(1877年)而举世闻名。他的代表作还有:《胡桃夹子组曲》(1892年)以及《睡美人》(1889年)。
阿尔弗雷德•丁尼生勋爵,1809年-1892年
他是维多利亚时代价值观的代表者、维多利亚时代最著名的诗人。1830年出版了他的第一部诗集《抒情诗集》。极少有诗人能像阿尔弗雷德一样创作出多种不同风格的诗歌杰作。

哈里特•塔布曼,1820年-1913年
在美国南北战争时期她通过组建“地下铁路”组织来救助奴隶。她的癫痫病是由于她13岁时被一个监工殴打头部导致的。在美国南北战争之后,她为贫困的老年黑人创办了哈里特塔布曼家庭。

道格•韦特,1968年-至今
职业高尔夫球运动员。高中时他开始打高尔夫球。之后他获得了职业高尔夫管理学位。在1989年他很快提升入美国职业高尔夫球协会。他是宾夕法尼亚州立大学的主要专业人才。

威廉三世,1650年-1702年
他又被叫做奥兰治的威廉。1672年他被推选为荷兰执政并且在荷兰战争(1672年-1678年)期间指挥战争。他是欧洲新教政治领袖,并于1688年应邀在英格兰领导所谓的“光荣革命”。1689年威廉和玛丽宣布共同继任英国国王。

尼尔•杨,1945年-至今
他是加拿大音乐家,他加入过水牛春田乐队,以及克罗斯比、斯蒂尔斯、纳什和杨乐队。他的专辑包括:《铁锈永不眠》(1979年),《自由》(1989年),《崎岖的荣耀》(1990年)。

来源:
患有癫痫病的历史名人名单摘录于“著名残疾人——1990年美国残疾人法案庆祝活动中提供的一个计划和出版物”,美国佛罗里达州希尔斯伯勒乡村的残疾公民联盟的礼仪;残疾人市长联盟;美国佛罗里达州坦帕市

网址:http://www.tampagov.net/dept_mayor/mayors_alliance/famous_persons/people_A_thru_E.asp

One Response to 如果你经历了癫痫发作,那么你并不孤单

  1. Resources these as the 1 you mentioned right here will be incredibly useful to myself! I will publish a hyperlink to this web page on my personal blog. I am certain my site guests will discover that fairly helpful.

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用 * 标注

*

您可以使用这些 HTML 标签和属性: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

If You Experience Seizures, You’re Not Alone…

 What Did These Famous Figures in History

Have in Common?

They All Had Epilepsy

***

If you think epilepsy is a sign of low intelligence or social inferiority, think again. All these famous figures in history had seizures, yet were leaders in their fields.  Isn’t it about time we change the way we think about epilepsy?

Fight Ignorance.

Change History.

***

In Alphabetical Order:

ABBOTT Bud, 1900-1974
American Comedian of Abbott & Costello comedy team. Starred in over 35 films with partner Lou Costello from 1940-1965.

ABERCROMBIE Neil, 1938-present
United States Representative from Hawaii (1986-1987). Served on the Honolulu City Council (1988-1990). Sought the Democratic Nomination for US Senate in 1970. First elected to the US House of Representatives on November 6, 1990. Last elected on November 8, 1994.

ALEXANDER the Great,356-323BC
King of the Macedonians and one of the greatest generals in history.

ALFRED the Great,849-901
King of the West Saxons in Southwestern England. He saved his kingdom-Wessex- from the Danish Vikings and laid the basis for unification of England. He was such an outstanding leader in war and peace that he is the only English king known as “the Great”.

ARISTOLE,384-322 BC
Greek philosopher/scientist. Aristotle was a student of Plato. In 343 BC he began tutoring the young Alexander the Great. He wrote on many subjects from biology to astronomy to rhetoric and literary criticism.

BELL Buddy [David Gus Bell], 1951-present.  Professional baseball player and manager of the Detroit Tigers team. Five time All Star 1973, 1980-82 and 1984.

BONAPARTE Napoleon [Napoleon I], 1769-1821
French Emperor and greatest military genius of his time, considered perhaps the greatest general in history.

BYRON Lord, (George Gordon Byron) 1788-1824
He was the most colorful of the English poets. He inherited the title Lord Byron at the age of 10 upon the death of his great uncle.

BURTON Richard, 1925-1984
Welsh actor who won Tony Award in 1961 for Camelot. Nominated for seven Oscars. Known for his Shakespearean -stage performances and his collaborations with actress Elizabeth Taylor to whom he married twice.

CAESAR Julius, 100-44 BC
Roman General and Statesman. Julius Caesar’s seizures are well documented. He told others that during his seizures he received messages from the gods.

CARROLL Lewis [Charles Lutwidge Dodgson], 1832-1898
Mathematician and author of Through the Looking Glass and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

CLIFFORD Max, 1943-present
One of Britain’s most successful public relations consultants, handling the Beatles, Mohammed Ali, Frank Sinatra, Marlon Brandon, the Bee Gees, and other rock groups and famous people.

CLIGNET Marion, 1962-present,
Cyclist, 1996 and 2002 Olympic silver medal winner. The road to an Olympic medal began when she lost her US Driver’s License after having a seizure.

COELHO Tony, 1942-present
Member of Congress in 1990. He was one of the driving forces behind the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Chairman of the President’s Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities. President Clinton appointed him as Vice-Chair of the National Task Force on Employment of People with Disabilities.

DANTE [Dante Alighieri], 1265-1321
Italian author was one of the greatest poets of the middle ages. His epic poem The Divine Comedy ranks among the finest works in world literature.

DA VINCI Leonardo, 1452-1519
Artist, scientist and inventor. One of the greatest painters and most versatile geniuses in history. He was one of the key figures of the Renaissance era. Many of his inventions and scientific ideas were centuries ahead of his time.

DOSTOYEVSKI Fyodor, 1821-1881
Russian author. Had three convulsive seizures as a child and complex partial seizures in adolescence. His seizures began with a feeling of ecstasy, followed by anguish, then convulsions. His characters had epilepsy in some of his writing. Authored: Crime and Punishment (1886), The Idiot (1887), Brothers Karamazov (1912)

FLAUBERT Gustave, 1821-1880
French author who had temporal lobe seizures which began at age 22, probably due to childhood trauma. Authored, Madame Bovary  in1857.

GLOVER Danny, 1947-present
American actor, starred in Places in the Heart (1984), The Color Purple (1985), the trilogy of Lethal Weapon (1987-1992).

HANDEL George Frederick, 1685-1759
English composer, master of baroque music who composed 46 operas. His best known work: The Messiah (1741).

HEMINGWAY Margot [Magdux], 1955-1996
Actor and model, granddaughter of Ernest Hemingway, starred in Lipstick 1976

JOHN Elton [Reginald Kenneth Dwight], 1947-present
English pop music composer and performer, has recorded over 25 albums, hits including Rocket Man (1972), Philadelphia Freedom (1975), Wrap Her Up (1985), Grammy Award (1981), Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

KIERKEGAARD Soren, 1813-1855
Danish Philosopher and theologian. Regarded as the founder of existentialism.

LANIER Hal, 1942-present
Baseball player and manager, Houston, 1986-1988, Infielder 1964-1973.

LEAR Edward, 1812-1888
English artist and author of Nonsense Verse. He reportedly had complex partial seizures every day or two, throughout adulthood. Limerick writer and known for the Owl and the Pussycat (1891).

LINDSAY Vachel, 1879-1931
American poet. Believed poetry should be performed rather than simply read. Some of his poems, such as The Congo (1914) included stage directions. His poems feature strong rhythm and vivid images.

MADISON James, 1751-1836
4th US President (1809-1817); drafted the Bill of Rights, often referred to as the Father of the Constitution. Played a leading role in the Constitutional Convention of 1787 where he helped design the checks and balances system that equalizes the roles of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government. He also created the federal system.

MAUPASSANT Guy de, 1850-1893,
French author. Was student of Flaubert. Recognized as a master of short stories and wrote Pierre et Jean (1888).

MOLIERE Jean [Jean Baptiste Poquelin], 1622-1673
French playwright, wrote The School for Wives (1662). The Imaginary Invalid (1673). Moliere was his stage name. Considered to be one of the greatest French writers of comedy.

NEWTON Sir Issac, 1646-1727
Developed calculus, the law of universal gravitation, the binomial theorem and discovered the composite nature of white light. Newton was a shy and sickly boy and remained shy as an adult.

NOBEL Alfred, 1833-1896
Swedish Chemist, Engineer and Inventor of Dynamite. A philanthropist, he established the Nobel Prize and left $9.2 million for annual prizes, first awarded 1901.

PAGANINI Nicolo, 1782-1840
Italian composer and violinist. Revolutionized violin technique, fingering methods. Became the of the greatest violinist of all time.

PASCAL Blaise, 1623-1662
French philosopher and mathematician and theologian. Formulated Pascal’s Law which states fluids transmit equal pressure in all directions.

PETER THE GREAT, 1672-1725
Russian Czar, Peter I , son of Aleksei Romanov Family, was one of the most famous rulers in history. He ruled first as a Czar of Russia and later became Russia’s first emperor. He transformed Russia into a great European power.

PITT William, 1759-1806
Second son of the First Earl of Chatham. In 1781 he became a member of the House of Commons. He was initially a reformist who opposed the war with the American colonies and urged peace. In 1783 he became Britain’s youngest Prime Minister.

POE Edgar Allen, 1809-1849
He is most famous as the first master of the short story form, especially tales of the mysterious and macabre. He is also considered the father of the modern detective story. He was known as a poet and critic. Some of his famous poems include The Sleeper (1831) Lenore (1831) The Raven (1845). Some of his story stories include The Fall of the House of Usher (1839), The Murders in the Rue Morgue (1841) and The Mystery of Marie Roget (1842-1843).

PYTHAGORAS,582BC-507BC
Greek philosopher and mathematician discovered principles of musical pitch. Was famous for formulating the Pythagorean Theorem which states that the square of the hypotenuse of a right angled triangle is equal to the sum of the squares of the other two sides.

QUEEN Boadicea,?-61AD
British queen of the Iceni, a Celtic tribe inhabiting the territory that is now Norfolk and Suffolk in England. After the death of her husband, the King Prasutagus, her kingdom was seized by the Romans.

SOCRATES,470?-399BC
Greek Philosopher and teacher. Viewed philosophy as the necessary pursuit of all intelligent men. He was a teacher of Plato. One of the most original, influential and controversial figures in ancient Greet philosophy and in the history of western thought.

SWINBURNE Algernon Charles, 1837-1909
His literary criticism was extensive, ranging from Shakespeare to Dickens, but he earned his reputation as a great poet. In 1860 published two verse dramas The Queen Mother and Rosamond.

TCHAIKOVSKY Peter Ilyich, 1840-1893
First Russian composer whose music became part of the standard concert program in Western Europe. Known for classical ballet scores Swan Lake (1877). Nutcracker Suite (l892), Sleeping Beauty (1889).

TENNYSON Lord Alfred, 1809-1892
Was a spokesman for the values of the Victorian age and its most famous poet. His first published volume was Poems, Chiefly Lyrical 1830. Few poets have produced masterpieces in so many different poetic styles.

TUBMAN Harriet, 1820-1913
Rescuer of slaves during the American Civil War through establishment of an ‘underground railroad’. Her epilepsy was due to a blow to the head at age 13 from an overseer. After the Civil War she founded the Harriet Tubman home for Indigent Aged Negroes.

WERT Doug, 1968-present
Professional Golfer. He started playing golf as a freshman in high school. Went on to get a degree in professional golf management. In 1989 he quickly moved up the ranks of the Professional Golfers Association of America. He is head professional at Penn State University.

WILLIAM III, 1650-1702
Also called William of Orange. In 1672 he was elected viceroy of the Netherlands and fought in the Dutch War (1672-1678). He was Europe’s leading Protestant statesman and was invited in 1688 to England where he led the so-called ‘Glorious Revolution’. In 1689 William and Mary were proclaimed joint sovereigns of England.

YOUNG Neil, 1945-present
Canadian musician who played with bands Buffalo Springfield, Crosby Stills Nash and Young. Albums include Rust Never Sleeps (1979), Freedom (1989), Rugged Glory (1990).

Sources:

List of historical figures with epilepsy excerpted from “Famous Persons with Disabilities – A Project and Publication Presented in Celebration of the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act”, Courtesy of  The Alliance for Citizens with Disabilities- Hillsborough Country, Florida, USA; and the Mayor’s Alliance for Persons with Disabilities; Tampa, Florida, USA

http://www.tampagov.net/dept_mayor/mayors_alliance/famous_persons/people_A_thru_E.asp

One Response to If You Experience Seizures, You’re Not Alone…

  1. Resources these as the 1 you mentioned right here will be incredibly useful to myself! I will publish a hyperlink to this web page on my personal blog. I am certain my site guests will discover that fairly helpful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>