改良的阿特金斯饮食

一个对中国癫痫患者有价值的治疗方法

Eric Kossoff 博士

约翰斯霍普金斯医院 马里兰州 巴尔的摩

翻译:邓宇虹 广州医学院第二附属医院 癫痫中心

Eric Kossoff医生在香港的讲座

改良的阿特金斯饮食是如何开始应用的?
改良的阿特金斯饮食 (modified Atkins diet,MAD)疗法由约翰斯霍普金斯医院的Eric Kossoff医生于2002年研发,这一方法来源于2个病例的启发。
首位患者是一名7岁女孩,她每日均有部分性癫痫发作,准备接受生酮饮食,但入院日期排在一个月后。中心建议她母亲开始减少进食碳水化合物和增加进食高脂食物,以“准备适应”生酮饮食对未来生活方式的改变,并建议她参考《阿特金斯医生的新饮食革命》一书。然而3天后患者的发作就停止了,她的尿酮达到了80mg/dL。因此她取消了住院计划,并在随后的3年内继续坚持使用“阿特金斯医生的新饮食”这一方法,并将碳水化合物限制在10克/天。
第二个患者是一名10岁男孩,他患有难治性的失神癫痫。由于饮食限制的严格性,他于一年前停止了生酮饮食。当癫痫再度发作的时候,家属自行开始给他进食高脂和低碳水化合物的食物,但没有进行食物的计算和称量,他很快达到了酮症,且发作减少。 我们的营养师对他的饮食进行了计算,发现他每天约进食10-20克的碳水化合物。2003年的《Neurology(神经科学)》杂志将这2例与其它4例一开始就进行阿特金斯饮食的患者(包括3个成人)进行了报道,引起了人们对这种饮食的极大兴趣。

改良的阿特金斯饮食与传统的生酮饮食相比有什么优势?

经典生酮饮食 改良的阿特金斯饮食 标准的“正常”饮食
与经典的生酮饮食相比,改良的阿特金斯饮食允许相当多的蛋白和略多的碳水化合物摄入,但仍然保持较高的脂肪摄入(上图)。且它对于水和热量没有限制,所以当患儿饿、渴的时候,他可以进食更多食物(但不能是碳水化合物)。
这种饮食之所以被命名为“改良的”,是由于它与传统的阿特金斯饮食不同之处在于它提高了脂肪的摄入量(鼓励患者进食大量的黄油,油脂,蛋黄酱和重奶油),同时降低了碳水化合物摄入量(在“起始阶段” 阿特金斯饮食为20克/日,此饮食法为10克/;随后根据体重的增减变化而每周增加逐渐摄入量)。而且它的目的也不是减肥,阿特金斯饮食的目的则是减肥。
对于成人,我们推荐以碳水化合物20克/日开始。此外,改良的阿特金斯饮食不需要禁食,并且此诊疗工作可以在门诊开展(要求30-40分钟的问诊及咨询时间)。与传统的生酮饮食一样,也要补充维生素,进行常规血、尿实验室检查,在家中自测尿酮。两者都要求神经科医师的配合,但改良的阿特金斯饮食需要的时间更少,可在有限的营养师支持下进行。同时,整个家庭都可以食用基于改良的阿特金斯饮食上的“低碳水化合物”食物,甚至可以外出在餐馆就餐,这对于生酮饮食来说不易做到。

改良的阿特金斯饮食与生酮饮食的不同
生酮饮食 改良的阿特金斯饮食
热量 (%推荐的每日允许量) 精确计算 无严格限制
液体(“) 计算,但通常较随意 无严格限制
脂肪 80% 60%
蛋白 15% 30%
碳水化合物 5% 10%
禁食阶段 偶尔需要 不需要
入院需求 需要 不需要
需要计算机辅助制定饮食计划 需要 不需要
食物称重和计算 需要 不需要
与家人分享食物 不可以 可以
在商店购买“低碳产品” 不可以 部分允许
提供详细的教育 需要 不需要
多个研究证实有效 是的 是的,最近

通过对儿童的研究我们了解到什么?
最近在Robert C. Atkins基金会的赞助下,我们开展了一个该饮食疗法对儿童难治性癫痫的前瞻性研究,发表在2006年的《Epilepsia(癫痫)》杂志上。20例患儿以进食碳水化合物10克/天起始, 随访6个月。16名患儿(80%)完成了此次研究,且大部分在结束后仍能继续坚持。6个月后, 65% 的患儿减少>50%的发作,其中7例 (35%)减少 90% 的发作,(4例发作完全控制)。
一年后韩国在《Epilepsia(癫痫)》杂志上发表了一篇结果与我们类似的研究报导,但疗效略差。在我们的研究中,总胆固醇从192mg/dl 上升至 221mg/dl, 但甘油三酯, 高密度脂蛋白,低密度脂蛋白在6个月内无变化,大多数儿童没有减轻体重,似乎那些更能保持酮体稳定状态的患儿效果较好。
2007年我们另一组同事进行了一个儿童双盲随机研究发现:接受10克/天碳水化合物的患儿在进行到第3个月的时候发作控制较好,3个月后转换成20克/天,患者耐受性更好而且疗效不减。因此我们推荐:在饮食的开始要严格要求,碳水化合物限制在10克/天,但在一月后可增加到20克/天。
2010年,对丹麦的33例癫痫病儿童研究结果显示:改良的阿特金斯饮食与生酮饮食有相似的疗效。2010年我们在《Child Neurology(儿童神经病)》杂志上发表了一篇关于应用生酮饮食的高脂产品“KetoCal” (www.myketocal.com)”来配合阿特金斯饮食的研究成果,发现它的效果优于未使用该产品的单纯改良的阿特金斯饮食。2个月后,有70%的儿童患者至少能减少50%的发作。 这一提高似乎是由于更高的脂肪摄入而不是升高了酮体。有趣的是:“KetoCal”似乎仅在第一月是必须的,这意味着改良的阿特金斯饮食 (可能包括所有的饮食治疗)都在第一个月有最大的疗效,因此在第一个月内有更“严格”、“更高”的脂肪摄入较为理想。此后,改良的阿特金斯饮食可以显著地降低严格性。

同样,我们最近也关注从改良的阿特金斯饮食转换为经典的生酮饮食的儿童患者,约1/3的患儿疗效有提高,尤其是患有“Doose 综合症”的患者。如果患儿对改良的阿特金斯饮食完全无反应,他对生酮饮食也基本无反应。这一结果告诉我们:这两种饮食非常相似——生酮饮食更像一个“高剂量”的饮食治疗,改良的阿特金斯饮食则是一个低剂量的治疗。如果神经科医生和营养师同意,这两种疗法可以相互转换。
到2011年为止,在公开发表的杂志上,已经有213个儿童患者使用了改良的阿特金斯饮食疗法,99 例患者(46%)能减少>50%的发作,59例患者 (28%)能减少>90% 的发作。这一结果与生酮饮食类似。在约翰斯霍普金斯医院,我们同时提供这两种方法给家庭选择,一般倾向于推荐改良的阿特金斯饮食给青少年(和成人),不倾向于推荐给婴儿和使用胃管进食的患儿,除此之外可让父母决定。
对于成人怎样?
未来改良的阿特金斯饮食可能在成人中的应用较儿童更为广泛。由于很少给不能手术的难治性成人患者提供传统的生酮饮食,所以有必要提供给患者一种非药物的饮食疗法。 我们最近完成并在《Epilepsia》杂志上发表了一篇与儿童研究类似、针对18-53岁成人患者的研究成果。其结果与儿童相似:47% 的患者在3个月时减少发作,33%的患者在6个月时减少发作。起效很快,平均约2周。许多患者有目的地减轻了体重,在研究期间,平均减轻了6.8kg,体重的减轻与第3月时的发作控制相关。然而,改良的阿特金斯饮食的确会增加总胆固醇(平均187-201mg/dL) ,退出率也较儿童高。即使成人有显著的发作减少,仍然会觉得饮食控制较为严格而在研究期选择退出。我们现在正在进行一项通过互联网管理和指导的成人改良的阿特金斯饮食研究。
至2011年,文献已报道了59例成人患者使用过改良的阿特金斯饮食研究,16例(27%)的患者能减少50%的发作,仅1例患者发作完全控制。这示意成人患者可能对改良的阿特金斯饮食适应困难,反应较差,但我们需要更多病例的研究来确定是否果真如此。约翰斯霍普金斯医院在2010年8月才开始在临床使用该方法,还不是很普遍。
改良的阿特金斯饮食在中国
中国的儿童和成人患者能使用改良的阿特金斯饮食吗?我们认为:能!在有限的营养师支持下,我们已在一些国家进行过大规模的人群研究,我们认为这非常有帮助。洪都拉斯的儿童在没有营养师的支持下,仅通过神经科医师的指导来进行此饮食疗法。在印度也由于同样的原因广泛使用了此方法。韩国和日本发现改良的阿特金斯饮食疗法非常有吸引力,因为此方法允许摄入更多的大米,能与家人一起分享更多的食物,准备食物的时间更少。随着它在中国的广泛应用,我们期待更多的信息。

One Response to 改良的阿特金斯饮食

  1. I never thought of that this way .. good writing.

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用 * 标注

*

您可以使用这些 HTML 标签和属性: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

The Modified Atkins Diet:

The Modified Atkins Diet:
A Valuable Treatment for Epilepsy in China

By Dr. Eric Kossoff
Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore Maryland

Dr. Kossoff lecturing in Hong Kong

How did the modified Atkins diet become used?
The modified Atkins diet was first created at Johns Hopkins Hospital in 2002 by Dr. Eric Kossoff as a result of two observations.
First, the family of a 7-year-old girl with daily partial seizures was counseled to start the ketogenic diet, but the admission date was scheduled for one month in the future. The center suggested that her mother begin reducing her daughter’s carbohydrates and increasing high fat foods to “get her ready” for the lifestyle change that the ketogenic diet would entail; Dr. Atkins’ New Diet Revolution was suggested as a resource. Three days later the child’s seizures stopped, and her urine ketones were 80 mg/dL. Her ketogenic diet admission was cancelled and she remained on the Atkins diet with 10 grams per day of carbohydrates for the next three years.
A second child, a 10-year-old boy with refractory absence epilepsy, had discontinued the ketogenic diet one year earlier due to restrictiveness. When seizures recurred, the family independently began providing high fat and low carbohydrate foods without measuring and weighing, and he immediately became ketotic with improved seizures. Our dietitian calculated he was eating approximately 10-20 grams per day of carbohydrates. These two children in combination with four additional patients (including three adults) started de novo on the Atkins diet were reported in Neurology in 2003, sparking substantial interest in this diet.
What benefits does the modified Atkins diet have over the traditional ketogenic diet?

The modified Atkins diet allows for considerably more protein and a bit more carbohydrate than the ketogenic diet, yet remains high in fat (Figure). It is also unlimited in regards to fluid and calorie intake, so if a child is hungry or thirsty, they can just eat or drink more (just not carbohydrates!).
The diet is considered “modified” from the traditional Atkins diet due both to its increased fat (patients are educated to eat foods such as butter, oils, mayonnaise and heavy whipping cream in large proportions), and reduced carbohydrates (10 grams per day versus the 20 grams per day Atkins diet “initiation period,” with planned weekly increases based on weight loss results). Also, the goal is not weight loss (as it is with the traditional Atkins diet).
For adults, we recommend 20 grams per day at diet onset. In addition, the modified Atkins diet is started as an outpatient (with approximately 30-45 minutes of counseling time required) without a fasting period. Vitamin supplementation, routine serum and urine laboratory monitoring, and home urine ketone checks are similar to the traditional ketogenic diet. Both require a neurologist to help coordinate care, but the modified Atkins diet needs less time and can be done with limited dietitian support. Also, the entire family can eat “low carb” on the Modified Atkins diet, including in restaurants outside the home, which is not as easy with the ketogenic diet.

Differences between the ketogenic and the modified Atkins diet:

Ketogenic Diet Modified Atkins Diet
Calories (% recommended Measured carefully Unrestricted
daily allowance)

Fluids (“) Measured, but often ad lib Unrestricted

Fat 80% 60%

Protein 15% 30%

Carbohydrates 5% 10%

Fasting period Occasionally done No

Admission to hospital Usually No

Meal plans computer-created Yes No

Foods weighed and measured Yes No

Sharing of foods at family meals No Yes

Ability to eat foods made in No Yes
restaurants

“Low carbohydrate” store-bought Not used Allowed sparingly
products

Intensive education provided Yes No

Multiple studies over many Yes Yes, recently
years proving benefits

What does the research tell us in children?
Our early findings led to a formal prospective study of this diet for children with intractable epilepsy that was supported by the Dr. Robert C. Atkins Foundation and published in Epilepsia in 2006.
Twenty children were started on 10 grams/day and then followed for six months. Sixteen (80%) completed the study and majority remained on the diet afterwards. After six months, 65% had >50% improvement, of whom seven (35%) had >90% improvement (four were seizure free).
A prospective study from South Korea one year later in Epilepsia described similar, although slightly less efficacy. In our study, total cholesterol increased from 192 to 221 mg/dl, but triglycerides, HDL, and LDL were constant over the six-month period. Most children did not lose weight. It seemed that those children with more stable blood ketones did best.
In 2007, another pediatric study from our group involved a randomized, crossover design and determined that children receiving 10 grams of carbohydrates per day had better seizure reduction at three months, and that switching to 20 grams of carbohydrates per day at three months led to better tolerability without loss of efficacy. As a result, we recommend starting the diet strictly, using a limit of 10 grams per day of carbohydrates, but increasing to 20 grams per day after one month.
Just in 2010, even more studies have shown benefit in Denmark with 33 children and results similar to the ketogenic diet. We published results in 2010 in Journal of Child Neurology, that using the modified Atkins diet along with a ketogenic high-fat shake called “KetoCal” (www.myketocal.com) improved results compared to the modified Atkins diet alone. After 2 months, 70% of children had at least a 50% reduction in seizures. This improvement seemed to be due to the higher fat intake rather than increased ketones. Interestingly, the KetoCal supplement only seemed to be necessary during the first month – which hints that the modified Atkins diet (and maybe all dietary treatments) have their maximal effect during the first month, and a “stricter” and higher fat first month is ideal. After that, the modified Atkins diet can be significantly loosened in restrictiveness.

Recently as well, we looked at children who started on the modified Atkins diet and then switched to the traditional ketogenic diet. About a third of these children had improvement, especially those with a type of epilepsy called “Doose syndrome”. No child without improvement on the modified Atkins diet improved on the ketogenic diet. These results tell us that both diets are very alike – the ketogenic diet likely is just a “high dose” of dietary treatment and the modified Atkins diet a “low dose”. It is fine to switch between diets if the neurologist and dietitian agree.
Now today in 2011, there have been 213 children in the published literature who have been put on the modified Atkins diet. 99 (46%) have had >50% seizure reduction and 59 (28%) have had >90% seizure reduction. These results are similar to the ketogenic diet. At Johns Hopkins Hospital, we offer both diets to the families that see us and let them choose. We tend to recommend it for teenagers (and adults). We tend to discourage it for babies and those children with gastrostomy tubes. Otherwise, it’s up to the parents to decide.
What about adults?
The future of the modified Atkins diet may, however, rest in treating adults rather than children. Since the traditional ketogenic diet is rarely offered to adults with refractory seizures who are not surgical candidates, there is a need for nonpharmacologic therapies such as diets. We have completed and published our results in Epilepsia in 2008 using a nearly identical prospective protocol to the pediatric study, with adults aged 18-53 years. Results were similar to children, with 47% having a seizure reduction at three months and 33% at six months. Improvement occurred rapidly when present, within a median of two weeks. Many patients lost weight purposefully, with a mean of 6.8 kg weight loss over the study period, which correlated with seizure control at three months. However, the modified Atkins diet did increase total cholesterol (mean 187 to 201 mg/dL) and the discontinuation rate was higher than in children. Even adults with dramatic seizure improvement still found this diet restrictive and chose to discontinue it during the study period. We are currently conducting a follow-up study of the modified Atkins diet for adults that involves Internet administration and guidance.
In 2011, there have been 59 adults published in the literature who have been treated with the modified Atkins diet. Of these 59, 16 (27%) had >50% seizure reduction. Only one adult has become seizure-free. This suggests that adults may have a harder time with the modified Atkins diet and MAY be less likely to respond. As more adults are put on this diet, we’ll know more if this is true or not. At Johns Hopkins Hospital, we have just started a clinic for adults using this diet in August 2010, and it is very popular.
The modified Atkins diet for China?
Could the modified Atkins diet be a valuable treatment for children and adults in China. We think so. We have studied this diet for countries with large populations that have limited dietitian support and think it will be very helpful. Children in Honduras are currently using this diet with the guidance of a neurologist but without a dietitian. It is also being widely used in India for this reason as well. Countries such as Korea and Japan have found the modified Atkins diet very attractive as it allows for more rice, increased sharing of foods at meal times, and less time in preparing foods. Stay tuned for more information as it becomes widely used in China!

Citations
Kossoff EH, Krauss GL, McGrogan JR, Freeman JM. Efficacy of the Atkins diet as therapy for intractable epilepsy. Neurology 2003;61:1789-91.
Kossoff EH, McGrogan JR, Bluml RM, Pillas DJ, Rubenstein JE, Vining EP. A modified Atkins diet is effective for the treatment of intractable pediatric epilepsy. Epilepsia 2006;47:421-4.
Kang HC, Lee HS, You SJ, Kang du C, Ko TS, Kim HD. Use of a modified Atkins diet in intractable childhood epilepsy. Epilepsia. 2007 Jan;48(1):182-6.

Kossoff EH, Turner Z, Bluml RM, Pyzik PL, Vining EP. A randomized, crossover comparison of daily carbohydrate limits using the modified Atkins diet. Epilepsy Behav. 2007 May;10(3):432-6.

Carrette E, Vonck K, de Herdt V, Dewaele I, Raedt R, Goossens L, Van Zandijcke M, Wadman W, Thadani V, Boon P. A pilot trial with modified Atkins’ diet in adult patients with refractory epilepsy. Clin Neurol Neurosurg. 2008 Sep;110(8):797-803.

Kossoff EH, Rowley H, Sinha SR, Vining EPG. A prospective study of the modified Atkins diet for intractable epilepsy in adults. Epilepsia, 2008;49:316-9.
Kossoff EH, Dorward JL, Molinero MR, Holden KR. The modified Atkins diet: a potential treatment for developing countries. Epilepsia. 2008 Sep;49(9):1646-7.

Kossoff EH, Bosarge JL, Miranda MJ, Wiemer-Kruel A, Kang HC, Kim HD. Will seizure control improve by switching from the modified Atkins diet to the traditional ketogenic diet? Epilepsia 2010;51: 2496-2499.
Tonekaboni SH, Mostaghimi P, Mirmiran P, Abbaskhanian A, Abdollah Gorji F, Ghofrani M, Azizi F. Efficacy of the Atkins diet as therapy for intractable epilepsy in children. Arch Iran Med. 2010 Nov;13(6):492-7.

Kossoff EH, Dorward JL, Turner Z, Pyzik PL. Prospective study of the modified Atkins diet in combination with a ketogenic liquid supplement during the initial month. J Child Neurol 2011; 26: 147-151.

Kumada T, Miyajima T, Oda N, Shimomura H, Saito K, Fujii T. Efficacy and tolerability of modified Atkins diet in Japanese children with medication-resistant epilepsy. Brain Dev. 2011 Jan 14. [Epub ahead of print]

Miranda MJ, Mortensen M, Povlsen JH, Nielsen H, Beniczky S. Danish study of a Modified Atkins diet for medically intractable epilepsy in children: Can we achieve the same results as with the classical ketogenic diet? Seizure. 2011 Mar;20(2):151-5.

One Response to The Modified Atkins Diet:

  1. I never thought of that this way .. good writing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>