癫痫病 FAQ’s

癫痫病:它是什么?

癫痫病不是一种疾病,而是一种导致正常脑电活动暂时紊乱的神经系统状况。当这种紊乱发生的时候,就会产生一次癫痫发作。

我们的视觉、触觉、听觉、味觉以及移动、思考和说话的能力都被大脑沿神经传导线路传输的信息支配着。一次癫痫发作类似于一次发生在神经 “ 信息高速公路 ”某处的短暂的电力风暴。“风暴” 导致大脑的通讯系统的暂时紊乱。这类似于一台计算机发送了一个错误信息然后需要重新启动,一个人经历了一次短暂的“关机” 发作,直到大脑的脑电活动恢复正常。

“癫痫病”这一词是一个用来描述超过四十种不同的癫痫病类型的学术统称。它们之间的差别非常巨大:有些人一年发作一到两次;还有些人每月、每天都会发作,甚至于一天之内多次发作。

大多数类型的癫痫病能成功地被药物治疗所控制。在医生确定治疗方案之前,他必须确定患者癫痫病发作的类型,以及可能导致患者癫痫病发作的原因。癫痫病发作有许多不同的诱因,比如大脑受伤或者家族遗传,但大多数病例都是原发性的,没有具体的诱因。

 

癫痫病:谁会得?

癫痫病是一种任何人都可能会得的普通的神经系统紊乱。它影响着全世界超过五千万人的生活。新病例在婴儿出生的第一年最常见;然而任何年龄的孩子和成人都有可能突发此病。

来自富有或贫穷家庭的人,受过教育和没有受过教育的人,来自不同种族、宗教和国籍的人都有可能患有癫痫病。癫痫病不是智力指示器:人们不论智力出众、正常或是低下都可能有癫痫病。它不是精神疾病;它也不会引起精神疾病。

在科学能够解释其发病的原因之前,由于公众的迷信和无知给癫痫病带来了巨大的歧视与耻辱。由于羞耻或恐惧,癫痫患者们时常隐瞒他们病情。如今,世界上许多患有癫痫病的名人越来越多地站出来,公开地谈论他们克服癫痫病的斗争。社会知名的科学家和政客、作家和艺术家、男演员和女演员、歌手,甚至是专业的运动员们,他们虽患有癫痫病但仍然取得了很高成就,并正在把癫痫病从阴影带到光明之中。

 

关于癫痫发作的实际情况:

  • 通过药物治疗,大多数人都能有效地控制他们的癫痫发作,从而继续积极、健康和快乐的生活。
  • 大多数癫痫发作只持续几分钟或者更短的时间,但是之后很长一段时间内患者可能都会感困惑、糊涂或疲劳。
  • 癫痫发作通常会自然而安全地结束。
  • 一旦癫痫发作开始,我们没有办法停止它;就顺其自然地让它发作,在其结束后,再安慰和帮助患者。
  • 只有在癫痫发作呈持续状态时,才需要急救措施,医生会使用药物干预来阻止其发作。
  • 癫痫病不具有传染性。
  • 癫痫病不是精神疾病,它也不会导致精神疾病。
  • 患有癫痫病不是智力低下的标志。智力出众、正常、低下的人都可能会患有癫痫病。
  • 很可能你认识的人中就有患有癫痫病的,尽管他们从没有告诉过你。癫痫病会影响像你和我一样的普通人。

 

发作类型

 

正如有许多不同类型的癫痫病,癫痫病的发作也有许多不同的类型。癫痫发作的这些类型主要分为两种:局限性发作和整体性发作。其区别在于它是如何在大脑中发作的。脑电活动的紊乱可能暂时影响大脑的一部分(即局限性发作),也可能影响整个大脑(即整体性发作)。患者在癫痫发作期间的症状取决于其大脑中发生脑电紊乱的部位。

对一些常见的发作类型的描述:

局限性发作:

单纯局限性发作

在单纯局限性发作期间,患者保持完整的意识,但是会体验到异样的感觉,比如味觉、嗅觉、情绪或身体的痉挛等。这些感觉通常在几分钟之后消失。

复合局限性发作

在复合局限性发作期间,患者的意识会被改变,虽然从外表看来他们好像知道自己在做什么,但是实际上他们不会记得发生的任何事。他们可能看起来很困惑或烦恼,并且反复做某些动作,比如吧嗒嘴、咀嚼、脱衣服或漫无目的地游荡等。他们可能会表达忿怒或者害怕,如果遭到阻止还会挣扎。发作通常会在几分钟后结束。

整体性发作

失神发作:

失神发作导致患者对周围的环境失去意识,他们或凝视某处,或眨眼睛,并对他人没有回应。失神发作通常只持续几秒钟,之后患者意识完全清醒。大多数患者都意识不到自己经历了失神发作;有些患者可以通过周围人的反应意识到,或者通过是与人交谈时,察觉到刚刚谈话的内容已经在不知不觉间转移来意识到。对于处于学龄期的患儿,家长们可能会把这种尚未被察觉和确诊的失神发作与溜号或注意力不集中混淆。癫痫发作的频率差异很大,从每天一次或更少至每天数百次不等。

强直阵挛性发作

这是一种大多数人通常将它与癫痫病联系的发作类型。患者可能会哭叫、失去意识、身体僵硬,然后四肢抽搐。有时会发生大小便失禁。强直–阵挛性发作通常持续30秒至几分钟。之后,患者可能会觉得疲惫,烦躁,或是有普遍的焦虑情绪。有些患者在发作后会表现出暂时地言语不请。在整体性发作时,患者可能会突然跌倒而造成其肢体的伤害。虽然癫痫发作只有几分钟,但是患者恢复所用的时间却大大不同。有些患者在很短的时间内就可以恢复并能进行正常活动;大多数人在发作后需要几小时的睡眠,通常在第二天才感觉正常。

强直性癫痫发作

强直性癫痫发作期间,患者会身体僵硬,甚至跌倒,但不会像强直–阵挛性发作一样发生抽搐或痉挛。患者通常会丧失意识10秒钟左右。

失张力发作(又称“跌倒”性癫痫发作)

在失张力发作中,患者的肌肉张力会突然完全地丧失,并跌倒到地上。有时只有头部垂下或下颚松弛,通常10秒左右意识恢复,然后他们就可以起身行走。恢复时间较短。

肌阵挛发作

这类发作的特点是在清醒后经常很快就会有手臂、头部、肩膀和腿的抽搐。患者手中的物品可能会溅出或散落。

先兆

有时癫痫发作是在某种特定的感觉之后发生,我们称其为先兆。先兆其实就是简单的局限性发作。有些患者经历过还没有发展成整体性发作的简单局限性发作。还有的患者在发作扩散到大脑其他区域前会有一些先兆感觉,并会失去意识。患者们的先兆体验是不同的:有些人会感到一种无法解释的烦躁或焦虑,有些人会有一种似曾相识的感觉,有些人会觉得头晕并感到不适,有些人会抽搐或手随意活动。先兆可以为人们提供一个警告预示,它告诉人们一次整体性发作快要来了。这使患者们有时间来确保自身安全,如可以告之他人,躺下或坐下来避免摔倒等。

医疗急救:癫痫持续状态

癫痫发作一般只持续几分钟。但在癫痫持续状态下,癫痫发作不会停止。虽然这种情况并不常见,但是这种有潜在生命危险的情况需要迅速地医疗急救。如果发作时间超过5分钟并且患者还没有恢复知觉,那么就需要采取及时地医疗救治。医院的治疗包括静脉注射抗痉挛药物和制剂来稳定病人。癫痫持续状态可由突然停用抗癫痫药物以及其他原因引起。

癫痫病:治疗方案的选择

大多数癫痫患者可通过适当的药物治疗来控制病情。现代癫痫治疗的研究发展已经让许多癫痫病人拥有正常、积极的生活。治疗的选择包括抗惊厥药物治疗、饮食疗法和外科手术等。与癫痫病医生(专治癫痫病的神经科医生)共同制定出一个适合你的治疗方案至关重要。

抗癫痫药物治疗

抗癫痫病的药物有许多不同类型,每一种类型都针对其相应的癫痫病进行治疗。在找到正确抗癫痫药物及其准确剂量之前,我们可能需要进行多次尝试,并能够最大限度地控制癫痫发作,及带来最小的副作用。与您的医生配合,来共同探索您的选择,在找到你正确的药物与适当的剂量之前,要诚实并完整地告知医生药物产生的所有副作用。抗癫痫药物对70%的癫痫病患者来说都是有效的。

饮食疗法

生酮饮食疗法已被成功地使用多年并帮助了30%无法通过药物治疗控制病情的癫痫病患者 。然而最近几年,这种严格控制高脂肪、低碳水化合物的饮食疗得到了改良,有了更新颖更简单的操作方法。改良后的阿特金斯抗癫痫饮食疗法(简称改良后的阿氏疗法)是由约翰霍普金斯大学于2003年最早研发的。如今改良后的阿氏疗法已经成为治疗某些类型的癫痫病的第一治疗方案。改良后的阿氏疗法和传统的生酮饮食疗法通常被用于患有顽固性癫痫或对药物副作用强烈的患者们。

手术:

根据引起癫痫发作的大脑不同位置,无法通过药物治疗控制病情的癫痫病患者可以考虑进行手术。除了手术,患者也可以选择植入VNS(迷走神经刺激)这种类似于心脏起搏器的仪器,它通过定期地向大脑发射温和的电流脉动来帮助患者预防癫痫发作。

 

资料来源:

http://www.ehealthmd.com/library/epilepsy/EPI_kinds.html

http://www.epilepsy.com

http://www.youthhealthtalk.org/Young_people_with_epilepsy/Topic/3500

http://www.epilepsyfoundation.org/about/types/types/statusepilepticus.cfm

http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/908394-overview

http://webspace.webring.com/people/hf/familyhealthrm/seizures.html

http://www.ehealthmd.com/library/epilepsy/epi_whatis.html

 

 


2 Responses to 癫痫病 FAQ’s

  1. cialis says:

    Hi! I’ve just stopped by to thank you for this cool article. Take care!

  2. Very well written story. It will be supportive to anybody who usess it, including myself. Keep doing what you are doing – looking forward to more posts.

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用 * 标注

*

您可以使用这些 HTML 标签和属性: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Epilepsy FAQ’s

EPILEPSY FAQ’s

Find answers to frequently asked questions about epilepsy here.
Epilepsy: What is It?
Epilepsy: Who Gets It?
Facts About Seizures:

Seizure Types

Partial Seizures:
Generalized Seizures
Auras
Medical Emergencies: Status Epilepticus
Epilepsy: Treatment Options
Epilepsy: What is It?
Epilepsy is not a disease, but rather a neurological condition that causes temporary disruptions in the brain’s normal electrical activity. When this disruption occurs, a person experiences a seizure.
Our senses of sight, touch, hearing, and smell; and our ability to move, think and speak, are all governed by messages the brain sends along neural pathways. A seizure is similar to a brief electrical storm that occurs somewhere along this neural “information highway” causing the brain’s communication system to be temporarily disrupted. Similar to the way a computer sends an error message and then needs to reboot, a person experiencing a seizure “shuts down” for a brief period of time until their brain’s normal electrical activity resumes.
The word ‘epilepsy’ is a general term used to describe over forty different types of seizure disorders. They vary in severity; some people experience seizures once or twice a year; others monthly, daily or multiple times per day. Not all seizures are alike; some cause a person to stare blankly, others to have muscle spasms or a convulsion.
Most types of epilepsy can be controlled successfully with medication. Before a doctor can prescribe treatment he must determine the type of seizures occurring, and the probable cause of the seizures. Epilepsy can be traced to many different causes such as a brain injury or a family tendency, but in the majority of cases no cause can be determined.
Epilepsy: Who Gets It?
Epilepsy is a common neurological disorder that anyone can develop, though it is not contagious. It affects over 50 million people worldwide. New cases are most common among children during the first year of life; however children and adults can develop this condition at any age.
Epilepsy can be found in the homes of the wealthy and the poor; the educated and the uneducated; amongst all races, religions and nationalities. Epilepsy is not an indicator of intelligence: people with high, average and low intelligence can have epilepsy. It is not a mental illness; nor does epilepsy cause mental illness.
Before science could explain the causes behind seizures, epilepsy carried a great stigma because of superstition and ignorance. People often hid the fact that they had epilepsy out of shame or fear. Now many famous people with epilepsy worldwide are coming forward to openly talk about their battle in overcoming epilepsy. Publicly admired scientists and politicians, writers and artists, actors and actresses, singers, and even professional athletes who have achieved highly successful careers in spite of epilepsy are bringing the condition out of the shadows and into the light.
Facts About Seizures:
  • Most people can effectively control their seizures with medical treatment, and go on to live active, healthy and happy lives.
  • Most seizures last only minutes or less, though the person may be confused or tired for a long period afterwards.
  • Seizures usually end spontaneously and safely.
  • Once a seizure has begun you cannot stop it; simply let it run its course, and then reassure and assist the person afterwards.
  • Only in medical emergencies for non-stop seizures do doctors intervene with drugs to try and stop the course of a seizure.
  • Seizures are not contagious.
  • Epilepsy is not a mental illness, nor does it cause mental illness.
  • Having epilepsy is not an indicator of low intelligence. People of high, average and low intelligence can have epilepsy.
  • It is highly likely that someone you know personally has epilepsy, even if they haven’t told you about it. Epilepsy affects people like you and me.
Seizure Types
Just as there are many different types of epilepsy, there are also many different types of seizures. Epileptic seizures can be classified into two main groups: partial and generalized seizures. The difference lies in how the seizures begin in the brain. Disruptions in the brain’s electrical activity can temporarily affect a certain part of the brain (partial seizures) or the whole brain (generalized seizures). What a person experiences during a seizure depends on where in the brain the electrical disruption takes place.
Several common seizure types are described below:
Partial Seizures:
  • Simple Partial Seizures
During simple partial seizures, the person remains fully conscious but experiences unusual sensations such as tastes, smells, emotions or jerking body movements. These usually pass after several minutes.
  • Complex Partial Seizures
During a complex partial seizure a person’s consciousness is altered and they will have no memory of what happened, though to onlookers it may appear they are aware of their actions. The person may seem confused and make repetitive movements such as smacking the lips, chewing, undressing, or wandering about aimlessly. They may express anger or fear, and struggle if restrained. The seizure usually passes after several minutes.
Generalized Seizures
  • Absence Seizures
Absence seizures cause a person to briefly lose awareness of their surroundings, stare or blink their eyes, and become unresponsive to others. Absence seizures typically last only seconds and the person is completely alert afterwards. Most people are not aware that they’ve experience an absence seizure; others can tell by the reactions of those around them, or by unexplained gaps in conversations. Undiagnosed absence seizures may be confused with daydreaming or lack of concentration when a child reaches school age. Frequency of seizures greatly varies, from once a day or less to several hundred times per day.
  • Tonic-clonic Seizures
This seizure type is what most people commonly associate with epilepsy. The person may cry out, lose consciousness, become stiff and then experience jerking of the limbs. Sometimes urinary or bowel incontinence occurs. Tonic-clonic seizures usually last anywhere from 30 seconds to several minutes. Afterwards the person may feel exhausted, confused, or experience general feelings of anxiety. Some people report temporary slurring of speech after a seizure. Falls during generalized seizures sometimes result in injury or bruises. Though the seizure only lasts minutes, the time it takes to recover may greatly vary. Some people are fine within a short period of time and can carry on normal activities; most need to sleep for a few hours after a seizure and usually feel fine by the next day.
  • Tonic Seizures
During a tonic seizure, the body stiffens and the person may fall over, but no twitching or jerking occurs as it does in tonic-clonic seizures. People who experience these seizures usually lose consciousness for about 10 seconds.
  • Atonic Seizures (Also called ‘Drop Seizures)
In an atonic seizure, muscle tone is suddenly and completely lost and the person drops to the floor. Sometimes only the head droops or jaw slackens. Consciousness is usually regained after 10 seconds or so, and they can then stand and walk. Recovery time is rapid.
  • Myoclonic Seizures
These types of seizures are characterized by jerking movements of the arms, head, shoulders or legs, often soon after waking. Objects may be spilled or dropped.
Auras
Sometimes seizures are proceeded by a certain sensation known as an aura. Auras are actually simple partial seizures. Some people experience a simple partial seizure that does not progress to a generalized seizure. Other people experience aura sensations before their seizure spreads to others parts of the brain and they lose consciousness. People experience auras in different ways: some feel a sense of unexplained confusion or anxiety; others a sense of déjà vu; some feel light-headed and generally unwell; some experience twitching or hand movements. The aura may provide a warning sign that a generalized seizures is coming. This gives the person time to make themselves safe, either by telling someone, or by lying or sitting down to avoid falls.
Medical Emergencies: Status Epilepticus
Seizures usually last only minutes. In status epilepticus, however, seizures do not stop. Though infrequent, this potentially life-threatening condition requires prompt medical treatment. Immediate medical help should be summoned if seizures continue longer than 5 minutes and the patient does not recover consciousness. Hospital treatment involves stabilizing the person with intravenous anti-convulsive drugs and fluids. Status epilepticus can be triggered by sudden withdrawal of anti-seizure medication, as well as other causes.
Epilepsy: Treatment Options
The majority of people with epilepsy can help control their seizures through proper medical treatment. Modern advances in epilepsy treatment have enabled many people with epilepsy to live normal, active lives. Options for treatment include anti-seizure medication, dietary therapy and surgery. It is important to discuss with an epileptoligist (a neurologist specializing in epilepsy) what treatment options are right for you.
Anti-seizure medication
There are many different types of seizure medications, and each type works better for certain types of seizures. It may take several attempts to find the right anti-seizure medication at the right dosage that will provide maximum seizure control with a minimum of side-effects. Work with your doctor to explore your options and report honestly and thoroughly any side-effects you may experience until you find the right medication and dosage for your needs. Anti-seizure medications are effective for 70% of people experiencing seizures.
Dietary therapy:
Ketogenic dietary therapy has been used successfully for many years to help the 30% of people who cannot control their seizures through medication; however, newer and simpler forms of this strict high-fat low-carbohydrate diet have emerged in recent years. The Modified Atkins Diet for Seizures was first developed in 2003 at Johns Hopkins Hospital in the United States, and is being used as a first-line treatment option for certain types of epilepsy. Both the Modified Atkins as well as the traditional ketogenic diet are commonly used to help patients with difficult-to-control seizures, or those who find the side-effects of medication intolerable.
Surgery:
Surgery is considered as an option for some people whose seizures cannot be controlled by medication, depending on where in the brain the seizures originate. Besides surgery, implants such as VNS (vagus nerve stimulation) work in ways similar to heart pacemakers, by sending regular mild pulses of electricity to the brain to help prevent seizures.
Sources:
http://www.epilepsy.com
http://www.ehealthmd.com/library/epilepsy/EPI_kinds.html
http://www.youthhealthtalk.org/Young_people_with_epilepsy/Topic/3500
http://www.epilepsyfoundation.org/about/types/types/statusepilepticus.cfm
http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/908394-overview
http://webspace.webring.com/people/hf/familyhealthrm/seizures.html

2 Responses to Epilepsy FAQ’s

  1. cialis says:

    Hi! I’ve just stopped by to thank you for this cool article. Take care!

  2. Very well written story. It will be supportive to anybody who usess it, including myself. Keep doing what you are doing – looking forward to more posts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>